Chocolate Popcorn with Sea Salt

When I told Rob what I was making, he commented that I seemed to be very addicted to this whole salted chocolate thing. Ha! Guys! Well, actually, I do admit I’ve been drawn to this “trend” lately, but if it’s a yummy trend, who cares?! Right?

The Details…

The Process: Well, this should be a pretty simple, easy recipe to execute. Notice the emphasise on “should?” I was being naughty when I was melting the chocolate and didn’t keep a close enough eye on it. It overheated. A little bit of panic came, but I was able to rescue it, adding melted butter, much more milk, and a little bit more chocolate! I was so proud of myself! But really, this shouldn’t be too hard of a recipe.

Notes on Ingredients Used: The original recipe called for stove top popped popcorn. I happened to only have microwave popcorn on hand, so that’s what I used! Either would work though!

The Verdict: It’s chocolate! How could Rob and Madison not love it?! And let me tell you, they sure did! I thought it was good too! I’m sure this would be an awesome crowd pleaser.

Chocolate Popcorn with Sea Salt

Adapted from A Cozy Kitchen

3 bags microwave popcorn OR 1 cup unpopped stove top popcorn kernels

12 ounces chocolate (any kind, but I used semi-sweet)

2 tablespoons butter, cut into smaller pieces

splash of milk (any kind will do…I used whole milk)

1-3 tablespoons (to taste) sea salt, kosher salt, or a mixture of the two

Pop your popcorn. Allow to cool.

In a double boiler, or just a glass mixing bowl over boiling water, melt the butter, chocolate chips and splash of milk.  Stir until melted and smooth. Watch carefully! 

To coat the popcorn: You’ll probably want to do so in batches. Thirds work well. Pour the popcorn (1/3 of it) in a mixing bowl and add 1/3 of the melted chocolate.  Grab a wooden spoon and gently stir in the chocolate, ensuring that all of it is covered in chocolate. you might find that this is more difficult than it sounds…what I did, silly as this may sound, is put two plastic bags on my hands and then just mixed it with my hands. This worked well. You could, of course, use actual plastic gloves (I just didn’t have any).  Then spread the chocolate popcorn out on waxed paper, and liberally top with a sprinkling of salt. Do other two batches.

Let it sit for a few hours or until dry and then put in airtight container until ready to serve. Or, start gobbling it up right away!

*Note: If you want more chocolatey popcorn in the end, either melt more chocolate or make less popcorn. If you want less chocolatey popcorn, increase the amount of popcorn you use. The amounts given work very well though…not too sweet but still decidedly chocolatey!

UPDATE: I was notified that it’s tricky to find out how to leave comments on my posts…and that is not good! Upon hearing that, I realized it is quite true! I want to hear from you…I really, really do! So, in case you’re wondering how you do leave a comment, you click on the post’s title and scroll down…hopefully then you should see a box for comments. Or, click on the number to the right of the date (next to the post’s title; the number stands for the amount of comments already left). I will also do my best to see if there’s an easier/more obvious way. Stay tuned and feel free to leave a comment, even if it’s just to say hi!

SECOND UPDATE: After mulling around the possibility of just getting a totally new format, I think I’ve decided to keep the blog as is. Hopefully the directions listed above are sufficient in helping you leave comments…and please do leave ’em! Thanks!

2 responses to “Chocolate Popcorn with Sea Salt

  1. Hello, it has taken me the better part of this week to figure out how to leave comments on your site. Yay, I found it! The popcorn looks like a great and fun snack after school and the cupcakes on the previous post look absolutely to die for chocoholic heaven. Love your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

