Apple, Honey, and Goat Cheese Tart

This is no ordinary post. You see, I chronical my baked goods (even if not actually baked, if we’re being super-duper technical!) on this blog…meaning my desserts. This, however, can be either a dessert, main dish, or hors d’oeuvres! Is that not cool or what!? I, personally, did serve it as dessert though.

I think it’s time I tell you something, dear readers. I love goat cheese (was that not anticlimactic or what?!) I don’t know what it is about it. Perhaps it’s the creaminess, I don’t know. Although you haven’t seen me bake with it yet, you can bet you probably will in the future (and I have baked with it prior to this blog).

 The Details:

The Process: Yes, it takes a bit of time to peel the apples, but other than that this recipe is super simple and a cinch to prepare!

Notes on Ingredients Used: Although I haven’t gone apple picking yet this fall season, I can only imagine how lovely this dish would be with freshly picked apples! Mmm. Isn’t it kind of me to share this recipe in the prime season to make it?!

The Verdict: Being the sucker for goat cheese that I am, I couldn’t help but enjoy this.  No, it’s not your rich, chocolate dessert, but for a lighter option this is great. The sweetness of the honey and apples masked some of the goat cheese’s tang but brought out it’s creaminess. The one thing I was disappointed in was the fact that the puff pastry became quite mushy and not so crispy due to the fact of how liquid-y the dish is (it’s not soup, mind you). This was not a deal breaker or anything though. Rob liked it pretty well, though noted he wasn’t enamored with it. Madison was not a fan. She didn’t even finish her piece! I wonder though, if this had been served as hors d’oeuvres would they have liked this dish more. Something to think about…

Apple, Honey, and Goat Cheese Tart

Adapted from Sugarlaws

INGREDIENTS:
1 sheet puff pastry (about 8.5 ounces)
2 small apples (type of your choice)
A little lemon juice (about a tablespoon)
1/3 cup honey
2 tbsp butter, melted
6 ounces fresh goat cheese (not crumbled)*

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.
2. Core, peel and slice the apples into thin half-moons. Set aside in a bowl with enough lemon juice to coat. This will prevent them from browning.
3. Roll out puff pastry to about 1/4″ thick, so that it covers a 9″ square tart pan (depending on your puff pastry, you may not have to roll it out at all). Roll puff pastry onto your rolling pin and lay it down on top of the tart pan. Press the dough into the corners and crevices to create a fluted crust.

5. Spread a thin layer of goat cheese over the bottom of the puff pastry in the tart dish. Using your hands is probably the best way to spread it gently, because even a cheese knife risks breaking the puff pastry.
4. Toss the apples with butter and honey to coat evenly. Spread in a uniform layer over the goat cheese.
5. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until apples are lightly browned and honey is bubbling. Remove, cool for ten minutes, and serve.

Serves about 6 as a first course and dessert, or 12 as hors d’oeuvres.

*To make it spreadable, you may find that putting it in the microwave just to slightly soften it is in fact quite helpful. Just don’t overheat!

Now if only I could say all my baked goods could be served as a main dish, hors ‘doeuvres, or dessert! Imagine…frozen cookie dough balls for dinner!

2 responses to “Apple, Honey, and Goat Cheese Tart

  1. I truly LOVE this tart idea. I am a huge goat cheese nut myself. My favorite pairing with goat cheese is roasted beets. Holy Moly! 🙂 This tart looks delectable. Ty for a great idea and recipe.

Leave a Reply

