White Chocolate Kit Kat Blondies

Kit Kat Bars are a classic. I mean, how can you not like  ’em (doesn’t it seem like I say this a lot?)?! When I was younger, and to this day (maybe a bit embarrassing to admit), while I was eating one, I would bite off one letter at a time, sometimes varying which end I chose to bite off. It’s quite an amusing experience. Confused? Let me explain.

(image from here)

If I started from the left side, I would bite off the K, leaving “it Kat”. If I continued to bite from the left end, I would eventually get to “at.” Typing this up, I realize this probably sounds stupid, but more so extremely strange. I guess you’re going to have to trust me on this one. Try it next time you eat one, and notice how much more joy you’ll get out of the experience (please note, I might just be the weird one in this situation…in fact, I probably am).

Have I lost you yet? Sorry! My mistake! You want to hear more about the recipe? Well, I do have to admit I wasn’t able to snap any photos. So let me describe them. On the bottom of the pan, you have chopped up pieces of Kit Kat Bars. Then you pour a white chocolate blondie batter over it (with both melted white chocolate and white chocolate chips). You bake it up, and well, honestly, it looks a bit bland. All you see is the white chocolate batter. But then, you cut into them. And that is the real magic. Ooey, gooey, messy, yummy, irresitible-ness. I was baking these for Rachel, so I only stole about a 1/2 inch square bite for myself. I sure wish I could have had more though!

The Details:

The Process: These were quite simple to whip up. In the end, I inadvertently underbaked them, because I was so worried I would overbake them. Let’s just say I don’t think this hurt them at all. It actually added to their appeal, I think.

Notes on Ingredients Used: I used unsalted butter, as that’s the only butter I ever have on hand. The recipe called for ten Kit Kat bars (mini), but I only had eight. This worked, but I’m sure ten might have been even better.

The Verdict: As I mentioned, I only had a small piece, but I was wanting more. Rachel said they were delicious, and definitely a keeper recipe.

White Chocolate Kit Kat Blondies

Adapted from Picky Palate

1/4 cup butter

3/4 cup white chocolate chips

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

2 eggs

2 tablespoons heavy cream

8-10 Kit Kat mini bars (a single package counts as one; if you wish, you could even do a few more)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line an 8-inch-by-8-inch baking pan with foil, and spray with cooking spray. Chop up Kit Kat pieces, but not into too small of pieces, and evenly lay out on bottom of pan.

Place butter into a microwave safe bowl and melt. Stir in white chips until melted and smooth. Place sugar, brown sugar, flour, baking powder, salt and white chips into a mixing bowl. Stir in melted butter/white chocolate, and then stir in eggs and cream. Pour batter into prepared pan, spreading out the batter while being extra careful not to mess up placement of Kit Kat pieces too much. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until cooked through (or slightly underbake if you wish), let cool, and then cut into squares.

Note: If you’re feeling fancy, as soon as the pan comes out of the oven you could stick a half a single bar into the top of each piece (they wouldn’t be cut up yet, so you’d have to use your good judgement). This isn’t necessary, but it could add to the presentation appeal (and add in a bit more milk chocolate-y flavor).

After my babbling on at the beginning about how I used to eat (and still do eat) a Kit Kat Bar, I’d just like to show you that someone else must share my joy of eating them this way:

(image from here)

And although this isn’t how I eat my Kit Kats, have a look here. It gave me a chuckle that their was a discussion on how to eat a Kit Kat Bar!

How do you eat your Kit Kat Bar? Do tell (even if it’s as simple as just biting into it!)!

Edit: There has been some confusion as to how to leave a comment…I’m sorry that this is proving tricky! All you have to do is click on the title of the post and scroll down…there should be a comment box. Even easier, click on the number next to the date (under the post’s title). This will take you directly to a box to leave a comment in (the number stands for how many comments there currently are). Don’t be shy about leaving comments! Thanks!

6 responses to “White Chocolate Kit Kat Blondies

  1. Sounds sooooo good. Thanks for the recipe and details! 🙂

  2. Mm, sounds good to me!

    And I don’t bite into kit kats to make different words, but i do bite off all of the chocolate around the edges and ends before I bite into it. So basically, it is just the wafers left…odd I know haha.

  3. Well, THIS looks insanely good!!

Leave a Reply

