Chocolate Pumpkin Shortbread

Oh, goodness. This was a disaster recipe that actually wasn’t a disaster in the end. I don’t have any pictures, which is probably good because you most likely wouldn’t say, “Man! I have to make that!” But, if I just tell you how good it indeed was, hopefully you will go ahead and make it. And make it you should! Shall I explain what happened with these bars?

The Details:

The Process: I saw this recipe and let me say that I love pumpkin. I was so excited to make these that I made them the same day I found them online! This was the first of hopefully many pumpkin recipes this season…so hope you’re okay with that! Anyway, I mixed up the bars…no problem. I put them in the oven. Baked ’em for awhile. Decided they weren’t done. Put ’em back in.  Checked again. Put ’em back in. Checked again. Put ’em back in. Repeated this process a few more times, until finally I was so worried I was going to overbake them. I baked them for much longer than the recipe called for, but I still didn’t think they looked down. Nevertheless, I took them out. I made the chocolate topping, which didn’t spread so well over the bars. I chilled them. I cut into them…and they were totally and utterly undercooked! However, the flavors were divine. Let’s just say I modified the recipe quite a bit for you guys (i.e. different baking times, a different chocolate topping, among other changes)!

The Verdict: Everyone couldn’t help but agree they were very underbaked. They all liked the flavors though. Madison especially loved them.

Chocolate Pumpkin Shortbread

Adapted from Picky Palate

Makes about 9 bars

 

2 sticks softened butter

1 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup packed light brown sugar

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

2 cups canned pumpkin

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg

¼-1/2 cup chopped chocolate or chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a stand or electric mixer cream the butter and sugars until well combined.  Slowly add in flour and salt until dough forms.  Press into the bottom of an 8×8 inch baking dish that’s been sprayed with cooking spray.

To prepare pumpkin layer, mix pumpkin sugar, cream, eggs, cinnamon and nutmeg into a mixing bowl until well combined.  Pour over shortbread layer (pan will be filled quite high).  The baking time is a bit unknown…in my convection oven, 45 minutes meant underbaked bars. I would watch very carefully, but in a normal oven, it will probably take at least an hour. Try not to underbake for best results (the flavors will still be divine if you do though!). Sorry that I can’t be more helpful!

Let cool for 30 minutes.  Melt chocolate over a double broiler or in microwave until smooth. Using a fork, spoon, or whatever other utensil you wish, drizzle the chocolate evenly over the bars. You may serve at room temperature, but I highly recommend eating it chilled.

Final advice: Don’t let me scare you about this recipe…with the modifications I’ve made, I’m sure you’ll have more luck! And really, the flavors are exceptional!

One response to “Chocolate Pumpkin Shortbread

  1. I think you need your comment area easier to find. Once I have found it, I’m good, but what about all those other bloggers dying to leave a comment here? The pumpkin shortbread sounded so good in theory. I hope you try it again with more success. It’s so frustrating when a delicious sounding recipe flops a bit.

Leave a Reply

